RVP Annual Seminars

About RVP Regional Network Publications Annual Seminars International Conferences Board Members Associate Membership Newsletters Support Contact

 

THE ANNUAL SEMINAR

Responsibility Personal and Social:

Foundations for Life in a Global Age

August 22-September 24, 2011                                                   Washington, D.C.

Seminar Participants

  

Katherine (Kate) Baker

Philosophy Department

St Stephen's University

Canada

pinevalleykate@gmail.com

 

"Educating for Responsibility: Edith Stein and the Formation of the Human Person"

Renzo Beghini

Doctorate in Social Moral Theology

Alphonsiana Academy

Verona, Italy

renzo.beghini@gmail.com 

Dirk Beirnaert

Visiting Scholar at IRP

The Catholic University of America

Washington, D.C., USA

dirk.beirnaert@gmail.com

Chen Yajun

School of Philosophy and Religious Studies

Minzu University of China

Beijing, P.R.China

chenyajun1@yahoo.com

 

"Responsibility Personal and Social: Perspectives from a World Philosophy"

Richard A. Cohen
Professor of Philosophy
Director, Institute of Jewish Thought and Heritage
University at Buffalo
Buffalo, New York 14260
www.jewishstudies.buffalo.edu
www.richacohen.com

 

"Levinas' Philosophy" & "Metaphysics Import ofOtherwise Than Being and Beyond" 

Peter Collins

Maryland, USA

petecollins99@gmail.com 

 

"Buber, Buscaglia and Responsible Living"

John Farina
Department of Religious Studies
George Mason University
jfarina@gmu.edu

Richard Feist

Faculty of Philosophy

Saint Paul University

Ottawa, Ontoria, Canada

rfeist@ustpaul.ca

Valerie Franks

PhD: University of Buffalo
MA: The New School for Social Research
Philosophy Faculty
University of Arkansas at Little Rock

vtfranks@gmail.com

 

"Phenomenology and Carmelite Mysticism (Edith Stein)"

Silja Graupe

Philosophy and Economics

Alanus University

Alfter, Germany

Silja.Graupe@t-online.de

 

"Responsibility and Responsiveness: Uncovering Economics' Presuppositions about Competition from Asian Perspectives"

Jack Hogan

Center for the Study of Culture and Values

Gibbons Hall B-19

620 Michigan Ave. NE

Washington, D.C. 20064

jhogan4020@yahoo.com 

Laura Junutyte

Department of Philosophy

Faculty of Social Sciences

Vilnius Pedagogical University

Vilnius, Lithuania

junutyte@yahoo.com

 

"Ir-responsibility in Deleuze's Philosophy"

Anna Krasteva

Doctor honoris causa of University

Lille, France

director, CERMES, New Bulgarian University, Sofia, Bulgaria

anna.krasteva@gmail.com 

 

"Politics and Responsibility: Post-communist Perspectives"

John Kromkowski

Department of Politics

The Catholic University of America

Washington, D.C. 20064

kromkowski@cua.edu 

George F. McLean

Center for the Study of Culture and Values

Gibbons Hall B-19

620 Michigan Ave. NE

Washington, D.C. 20064

mclean@cua.edu

Ilshat Nasyrov

Russian Academy of Sciences

Moscow, Russia

Ilshatnasyrov@yahoo.com

 

"Cultural Islam as Alternative to Political Islam"

Nguyen Tai Dong

Institute of Philosophy

Vietnam Academy of Social Sciences

Hanoi, Vietnam  

ntaidong@yaoo.com

 

"Levinas and Confucius on Social Responsibility"

Vasily Vanchugov

Department of History of Philosophy

the School of Humanities and Social Sciences the Peoples' Friendship University of Russia Moscow, Russia

vanchugov@gmail.com 

 

"Ethnosophy: Images of nations in Russian Philosophical Mind"

Jolanta Saldukaityte

Faculty of Philosophy

Vilnius University

Vilnius, Lithuania

jolanta.saldukaityte@gmail.com

 

"Levinas and Lithuanian Culture"

Vincent Shen
Department of Philosophy 
University of Toronto
Toronto, Canada
vincent.shen@utoronto.ca

 

"Confucian Altruism, Generosity and Justice: A Response to Globalization"

William Sweet

Philosophy Department

St Francis Xavier  University

Antigonish, NS, Canada

wsweet@stfx.ca

João J. Vila-Chã

Pontificia Università Gregoriana

Rome, Italy

j.vila-cha@unigre.it

 

Seminar Director

Zhang Haojun

Department of Philosophy

College of Political Science and Law

Capital Normal University

Beijing, P.R. China

haojunzhang@126.com

 

"Levinas' Ethics of Responsibility"

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(all the materials on this website are copyrighted © by the council for research in values and philosophy)

Gibbons Hall B-20, 620 Michigan Avenue, NE, Washington, DC, 20064; Telephone: 202/319-6089; Email: cua-rvp@cua.edu; Website: www.crvp.org